Vote in EP plenary on the urban dimension of EU policies reflects ALDE-CoR positions: several proposals taken up by MEPs

Following the vote on the Urban Agenda in the plenary session of the European Parliament, ALDE-CoR President Bas Verkerk (NL/ALDE),… Read more

EP REGI committee chair praises collaboration between CoR and EP on the Urban Agenda

On 15 July the CoR commission for territorial cohesion and EU Budget (COTER) discussed how to better deliver EU cohesion… Read more

ALDE group photo, Bas Verkerk
Liberal rapporteurs in the CoR tackle food waste and radicalisation

The opinions on food waste by rapporteur Ossi Martikainen (FI, Keskusta) and tackling radicalisation by Bart Somers (BE / Open… Read more

Thirty young councillors discover the Committee of the Regions in a joint event with LYMEC

Last week, from the 2nd to the 4th of June about 30 young Liberal councilors from across Europe convened in… Read more

“In a knowledge-driven economy, cities and towns are engines for growth and jobs in the EU” – Bas Verkerk (ALDE/NL) speaking in the European Parliament REGI committee

Invited to speak on behalf of the CoR in the Regional Development Committee of the European Parliament on the urban… Read more

The new ALDE presidency team takes office for the 6th mandate of the CoR

At its group meeting preceding the February plenary session, the ALDE members elected their Bureau and coordinators for the CoR… Read more

ALDE celebrates 10 years in the Committee of the Regions by re-electing Bas Verkerk as its President, and electing him as its candidate for the Presidency of the institution

In its meeting held today, Thursday 5 February, coinciding with the beginning of the 6th mandate of the Committee of… Read more

Ebola and Syria: ALDE hears how local authorities can help

​ Local and regional authorities have a key role in helping to combat two very different crises, but both having… Read more

Results of the 2014 LeaDeR Awards announced at Brussels ceremony

The results of the fourth edition of the LeaDeR awards were announced Wednesday 10 December in Brussels at a ceremony… Read more