Renew Europe CoR at ALDE Congress in Dublin

Now more than ever, we need a strong, united Europe. At the ALDE Party Congress in Dublin, Renew Europe CoR will contribute to shape the liberal response to the future of European security, climate change and energy independence. Our Liberal Mayors Summit will focus on Ukraine and in cooperation with Fianna Fail we organize a first Councillor’s event, “Bringing Europe closer to your local community”.

— This overview/blog covers Renew Europe CoR activities at the ALDE Party Congress in Dublin 2-4 June 2022 — 


Subnational leaders were very active at the first in-person Congress of the European liberal party in almost three years, that just took place this week in Dublin 2-4 June hosted by Fianna Fáil. A quick look back at the #ALDEcongress👇
Liberal Mayors planned more support for Ukrainian cities as well as summer holidays for children who are in the war zone; our video:

Local councillors discovered new ways to connect their local communities with decision-making in the European Union as well as with other municipalities across Europe🇪🇺
The President of Renew Europe in the European Committee of the Regions, Mayor François Decoster met with the Irish 🇮🇪Prime Minister An Taoiseach Micheál Martin and with Luxembourg🇱🇺 Prime Minister Xavier Bettel as did our environment spokesperson Mayor Vincent Chauvet
The #ALDEcongress elected Irish Senator Timmy Dooley and Bulgarian MEP Ilhan Kyuchyuk as co-Presidents of the ALDE Party, and 5 Vice-Presidents: Annelou Van Egmond of D66🇳🇱, Svenja Hahn of the FDP🇩🇪, Kira Rudik of Golos🇺🇦, Sal Brinton of the LibDems🇬🇧 and Daniel Berg of Momentum🇭🇺. Congratulations to all of them! 👏


Our first ever Councillors’ event at the ALDE Party Congress focused on bringing the EU closer to your local community: about 20 Fianna Fail local councillors listened to a Renew Europe CoR presentation on EU funding, followed by a panel discussion – with Cllr. Kate Feeney, Senator Malcolm Byrne (spokesperson on Higher Education, Research, Innovation & Science, Fintan Phelan, International officer Fianna Fail and Gillian Coughlan, Mayor of Cork – on the European Year of Youth 2022, the EU Councillors’ scheme, Liberal Mayors network and Young Elected Leaders. 

Kate Feeney reacted: “It was great to debate with 20 Fianna Fail councillors about issues such as how to bring Europe closer to your community and citizens, the European year of youth, European funding,.. It was good to hear from councillors from around the country on their experience with the EU, what we could do better, what is working and what’s not. I think everyone benefited from them and we should have more of these events in the future” – watch video: 


François Decoster spoke to Luxembourg’s Prime Minister Xavier Bettel, European Commissioner Thierry Breton and Taoiseach Michael Martin.


Vincent Chauvet actively contributed to fostering relations with the liberal family, meeting/discussing with Luxemburgish Prime Minister Xavier Bettel, Split Mayor Ivica Puliak and Kira Rudik (Holos) from Ukraine. 


Facebook Live

Our President François Decoster participated in the Facebook live of Vincent Chauvet, coming right out of the Liberal Mayors Summit, discussing Ukraine, the European Comittee of the Regions and more. 

Liberal Mayors Summit 17.00 – 19.00

Liberal Mayors agreed to practical next steps for summer camps for Ukrainian refugee children after a call from the Mayor of Kiev, Vitali Klitschko. 

Reaction on the Summit by Naoise Ó Cearúil (Fianna Fail), Mayor of Kildare:


Read more from the ALDE Party website

EU Mayors for Ukraine: discussion & future actions on summer camps for Ukrainian children, Twinning for refugee integration and twinning for reconstruction, followed by a discussion on the EU Councillors scheme.

Almost 20 Mayors from 12 countries participated: François Decoster (Saint-Omer) and Vincent Chauvet (Autun), France; Bart Somers (Mechelen), Francesco Vanderjeugd (Staden) and Peter Gysbrechts (Putte), Belgium; Gillian Coughlan (County of Cork), Fintan Phelan (Carlow), Naoise ó Cearúil (Kildare), Ireland; Christopher Wiederkehr (Deputy Mayor of Vienna), Austria; Dario Hrebak (Bjelovar), Croatia; Andreas Kondylis (Alimos), Greece; Madelaine Jakobsson (Nordmalings Municipality), Sweden; Clotilde Armand (Bucharest Sector 1), Romania; Tiago Mayan (Parish of Aldoar, Foz do Douro e Nevogilde – Porto), Portugal; Vicente Maranón (Deputy Mayor of Burgos), Spain; Daniel Berg (Budapest II. District Mayor), Hungary and Karolina Zdrodowska (Deputy Mayor of Warsaw), Poland.

More on LMS:


Bringing Europe closer to your local community 12.00 – 14.00

The 2022 ALDE Party Congress takes place on 2-4 June in Dublin, Ireland. Our delegation to the ALDE Party Congress in Dublin consists of our President François Decoster, Kate Feeney, Gillian Coughlan, Michael Crowe, Andreas Kondylis, Mart Vorklaev and Vincent Chauvet.

Other news